The Person/Caswell National League of Junior Cotillion recently held its Grand Spring Ball at Croasdaile Country Club in Durham.

The annual ball provides students a formal environment to practice the etiquette and dance skills they have learned and to enjoy self-assurance that comes from knowing the proper manners to use.

The evening includes special prizes, contests, party favors and dancing.

After students were presented to Mr. and Mrs. Carden (NLJC director), they proceeded to launch the ball with the Grand March.
The line dance to Pharrell Williams’ Happy followed.
Unique to this year’s ball, fathers presented their daughters with a long stem rose just before the Father/Daughter Dance.

Likewise, gentlemen presented their mothers with a rose prior to the Mother/Son Dance.

Certificates of Merit awarded for Best Mannered Teacher Essay were:
Season I – Lady- Elizabeth Chambers
Gentleman – Kadin Brooks
Season II – Lady – Jessica Holeman
Gentleman – Jaxon White

Special recognition was given to Laney Jones for longstanding service to National League of Junior Cotillion. Jones has been a role model cotillion student or student assistant for nine years.

Outstanding Class Participation awards went to Cathryn Haynes and Jacob Bobbitt.

Contest winners were as follows:
Elimination Dance # 1 – Annelise Lassiter and Will McClintock

Foxtrot Contest – Kyah Godowsky and Jaxon White

Shag Contest – Madeline Moore and Gregory Chizhikov

Elimination Dance # 2 – Jessica Holeman and Logan Whitfield

Word Contest – Allysa Gray, Savannah Beskie, Elizabeth Chambers, Kadin Brooks and John Stultz

Parent /Child Shag Contest – Father and Daughter – Lauren Talley and her father, Brent Talley

Parent/Child Shag Contest – Mother and Son – Hunter Harris and his mother, Tracy Harris

Ken Martin and staff from Smith Photography were available for family or individual photos.

Attending in roles as student assistants were Laney Jones and Collin Graves.

Chaperoning the event were Chrystal and Josh Clayton, Elizabeth Lassiter, Wendy and Ken Walker, Debbie and Brian Whitfield and Holly and Andy Yarborough.

Advisory board members in attendance were Karen Addison, Rita Bigner, Cheryl Chaney, Chrystal Clayton, Laura Dallas, Elizabeth Lassiter, Kim McClintock, Michelle Moore, and Toni Overbey.

The Grand Spring Ball concludes the Cotillion season of 2015-16.

A Parents’ Reception for those interested in knowing more about NLJC Person/Caswell Season 2016-17 will be held at The Gathering Place, 114 South Main Street, Roxboro on Tuesday evening, May 31.

For details contact director Jean Carden by phone or text at 919-812- 3413 or email her at [email protected].